The 12 Secrets of Highly Successful Women: A Portable Life Coach for Creative Women by Gail McMeekin

The 12 Secrets of Highly Successful Women: A Portable Life Coach for Creative Women
Gail McMeekin
Conari Press (2011)
ISBN 9781573244930
Reviewed by Irene Watson for Reader Views (9/11)

 

One of my passions is to read about the successes of other women and follow their footsteps to that success. Gail McMeekin interviewed over thirty women from which she shares her pertinent information that made them successful.  These are not individual stories but what McMeekin gleaned for herself from the interviews or submissions. McMeekin adds her own take on what was given to her and expands it effectively in “The 12 Secrets of Highly Successful Women.”

I felt all the “secrets” had merit and certainly I attained more focus in many areas of my life, however; for me, two specific secrets had an impact.  The first was “Secret Eight – Short-Circuit Self-Sabotage, Obstacles and Failures.”  I was gently reminded “We get a lot of messages to be ‘nice’ and to do things for free or give people things on the cheap. No wonder the ‘fear of success’ dynamic is still so prevalent.”  Ouch.  That one really hit home for me as I have been attempting to refocus my business to accommodate the recession. After reading the secret several times, and contemplating on the answers I wrote to the questions presented,  I am now clear that fear has been in my way. As suggested, I brainstormed my answers with a friend that has a vibrant business model.  It’s one of the best exercises I’ve done for a long time.  I feel inspired, focused and directed.

The second secret that stopped me in my tracks was “Secret Ten – Avoid the Female Burnout Traps.”  I knew I was falling into the burnout trap but kept promising myself that tomorrow will be different.  The tomorrow seemed to always be tomorrow until I read and contemplated this chapter.  The first blast I got was “According to Women’s Health in September 2007, 77 percent of women feel burned out in their job.” The article continued to say that “women work an average of ninety-four hours per week…” Yep, that’s me, only I’m not a mom of young children as many working women are but I spend that time on the job.   As suggested in the secret, I started clearing off days on my calendar for dedicated “me time.”  I do remember doing that before and after the first day off for me I started remembering how rejuvenating it was.  Now, I have a scheduled “me time” date with me.

I love this book!  It came to me at a perfect time – a time when I was in true burnout.  I know I’m not the only one in this predicament therefore I encourage any woman that is reading this review to immediately buy this book.  I know it will change your life and prevent a downward spiral many of us stressed-out women are headed toward.

I believe the only drawback to this book is, when we are introduced to the women that McMeekin interviewed, we don’t have immediate access to their websites. Although the websites are listed in the back of the book I would have preferred to have more convenient access to it.  This is only my preference and certainly doesn’t deter from any of the information presented. “The 12 Secrets of Highly Successful Women: A Portable Life Coach for Creative Women” is highly, highly recommended!

This entry was posted in Self-help / Motivational / Inspiration / Lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

