The 150 Best Slow Cooker Recipes, Second Edition by Judith Finlayson

The 150 Best Slow Cooker Recipes, Second Edition
Judith Finlayson
Robert Rose Publishing (2011)
ISBN 9780778802846
Reviewed by Irene Watson for Reader Views (10/11)

 

Slow cookers are one of my favorite ways to prepare meals.  Being a working person, as well as being responsible for putting meals on the table, I cherish anything that is time saving.

For the purpose of the review we are asked to test three recipes, which I gladly obliged.  The first recipe I tested was “Turkey Mole.”  I love mole but have never made it myself so this was a good opportunity to try it and use my slow cooker at the same time. Although it’s a recipe that takes time to make and needs a food processor, the end result was very favorable. The cooking process took 3 hours on high so you do need the time to make this dish.  The sauce was thick and flavorful.  The turkey was tender and could be cut with a fork.  The end result was very good and worth the long process.

The second recipe I tested was “Butternut Chili.”  The recipe calls for one pound of lean ground beef, 2 cups of kidney beans, 1 can of tomatoes, and 3 cups of squash plus the regular spices and herbs.   The end result was spicy, thick and very favorable.   The recipe is large and the second day it tasted even better when the flavors married.  I served the dish over rice and with a side green salad.

The third recipe I tested was “Parsnip and Coconut Curry with Crispy Shallots.”  Parsnips are one of my favorite fall/winter vegetables and it is fun to try out different ways to prepare them.  I’ve never used curry with parsnips so was intrigued to find out how the flavors meld.  The base consists of onions, celery, peas, and parsnips. The sauce is made of coconut milk and vegetable broth with ginger root, cumin, and curry powder.  After cooking on high for 3 hours, the end result was very good.  The crispy shallots (browned and crisped in a skillet) were a nice topping.  Served with naan, this dish ended up being a great dinner.  There were no leftovers but I would imagine they would be great the next day as well.

As I looked through “The 150 Best Slow Cooker Recipes, Second Edition” by Judith Finlayson, I noted that most of the recipes were simple and most of the ingredients can be found in a kitchen pantry or local grocery store.  I truly believe that those that love slow cookers as much as I do would appreciate many of the recipes in this book.  They go beyond just throwing a bunch of stuff into a slow cooker; there is excitement of anticipation of what the end result will be like.

This entry was posted in Cookbooks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

