The Glorious Pasta of Italy by Domenica Marchetti

The Glorious Pasta of Italy
Domenica Marchetti
Chronicle Books (2011)
ISBN 9780811872591
Reviewed by Irene Watson for Reader Views (5/11)

 

I love pasta and was thrilled to see “The Glorious Pasta of Italy” seeking a review.  I’m always game for trying out new recipes and that I did.  Rather than making the usual well-known Italian recipes, I decided to test some that I’ve never tasted or heard of.

For the purpose of the review we are asked to test out three recipes. The first one I tested was “Fluffy Semolina Dumpling Soup.”  Quickly simmered in a chicken broth, the dumplings held together very well. They were rich because of the cream, butter, Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese and eggs. Topped with more Parmigiano, the soup was very appetizing.

The second recipe I tested was “Penne Rigate with Sweet Peppers and Anchovies.”  The blend of sweet peppers and the saltiness of anchovies combined with 3 large cloves of garlic made the best sauce ever.  Once the Penne was coated, I topped the dish with freshly shredded Pecorino Romano cheese. Oh my, the taste was awesome.  Combined with a side salad and crusted bread we had a wonderful meal.  (The leftovers are very good as well!)

The third recipe I tested was “Whole-Wheat Fettuccine with Savoy Cabbage, Cream, and Caraway Seeds.”  The sauce was a combination of sautéed pancetta, shallot, caraway seeds, pepper, cream, and chicken broth that the cabbage cooked in until wilted.  The cooked pasta was transferred to the frying pan holding the cabbage combination and tossed.  Topped with freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese the dish gave a traditional European-based dish an Italian flare.  The dish took a little extra time to make but very well worth it. As well, it’s important to have a pan large enough for all the ingredients in the end.  This is one recipe I will make again.

As I perused the rest of “The Glorious Pasta of Italy” cookbook, I noted many other recipes I will make. Many look very simple and certainly depict Italian tradition. As well, I feel that most ingredients can be found in a kitchen pantry or at a local grocery store.

I liked the composition of this cookbook.  The pictures are colorful and give an indication of what the end result will look like.  My only complaint is the small font; otherwise, I do recommend “The Glorious Pasta of Italy” if you are looking to indulge yourself in some homemade Italian cuisine.

About Reader Views

Reader Views is an Austin, Texas, based company. We started late December 2005 as a book review service. Shortly after the company's birth we expanded into offering a variety of services for authors such as book publicity services, editing, author interviews, literary book awards, as well as coaching to write book proposals.
This entry was posted in Cookbooks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

