Spanners: The Fountain of Youth by John Maas

SPANNERS: THE FOUNTAIN OF YOUTH

SpannersJohn Maas
CreateSpace (2013)
ISBN 9781490350011
Reviewed by Jennifer Hass for Reader Views (1/15)

Article first published as Book Review: ‘Spanners: The Fountain of Youth,’ Science-Fiction by Jon Maas on Blogcritics.

I just finished reading “Spanners: The Fountain of Youth” by Jon Maas. Spanners are rare beings that have different powers and their life spans vary. Some live for a short while, others are immortals, and everything in between. Spanners are often living among the rest of us humans, but most rather sit back in the shadows.

I normally take easily to Sci-Fi novels. I cannot say that I completely got into “Spanners.” I couldn’t exactly figure out what was happening right away or what was the ultimate goal. I eventually found out that it was basically a battle between good vs. evil. The winner of this battle would gain the power to rule the world and have everlasting life. This “fountain of youth” lies within one Spanner that is hidden away. Time is ticking for both sides to find the girl. Adam Parr is doing everything he can to make sure things stay under control.

At first, I could not figure out who was good and who was bad. I assumed it was for me to decide for myself. By the end of the book, I still was unsure. The story was written pretty well, with point of views going back and forth between characters and I always knew who was talking. I did have a hard time keeping up with everyone in the book, what they were capable of and what they were doing. It was a lot for me to process.

I think that “Spanners: The Fountain of Youth” by John Maas might be better suited for a reader that loves a Sci-Fi/Fantasy story rather than just a die-hard Sci-Fi reader such as myself. I probably wouldn’t have had so much trouble keeping up if I was more interested in what was happening. I just think, for me and my own reading taste, there was too much going on.

Overall, I think Maas did a great job with character development and the editing was excellent. I even love the cover image. Pretty creepy, yet alluring!


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.