“A Merry Little Bible” by Car Melo

AMerryLittleBibleA MERRY LITTLE BIBLE

Car Melo
Outskirts Press (2016)
ISBN 9781478769538
Reviewed by Mark Graham for Reader Views (05/17)

“A Merry Little Bible: A Lighthearted Retelling of Fifty Stories and Fifty Parables” is a collection of Bible stories and lessons written by Car Melo. It is a compilation of major Bible stories from the Old and New Testaments and teaches the various lessons with revised ideas. Readers will recognize the stories and make comparisons to how they were taught these stories.

Car Melo uses his gift of language and humor in his writing. This is a book that could be used as a supplemental text for various Bible and Humanities courses to teach the numerous ideas shared with the various levels of education, whether in the spiritual and/or physical sense.

What I learned after reading this book is that we all have a chance to change how we look at things and ideas. When I read the 50 short parables, I remembered some of them and the lessons that are taught through these. My favorites are the Parable of the Sower the Wise and Foolish Builders, and of course The Prodigal Son. To me these three stories teach me how to live and make the right choices.

I would liked to have seen Car Melo write more detailed lessons on these biblical versions in a lesson-plan format, so they could be used in classrooms. I have learned a new way to read the Bible that I thought I knew so well. This is also a book that could lead to a series of children’s books if the author was willing to write. It occurred to me when I was reading that many of the chapters would make good children’s books. Other chapters could also be used in professional sessions that could teach various life lessons and offer suggestions to solving different issues.

After reading this collection of stories and lessons, I give it a 5-star rating. “A Merry Little Bible: A Lighthearted Retelling of Fifty Stories and Fifty Parables” by Car Melo is a book I will read repeatedly for the further lessons I will learn.

This entry was posted in Books, Religion & Spirituality and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

