“When Tomorrow Comes” by DL Larson

When Tomorrow Comes

DL Larson
Outskirts Press (2022)
ISBN: 978-1977257765
Reviewed by Paige Lovitt for Reader Views (01/2023)

The Douglas Family Saga continues with this sixth book in the series, “When Tomorrow Comes.”

In this episode, several members of the Douglas family take off on a variety of adventures that cover parts of the east coast, Midwest, and the west coast. Danger awaits them at every turn. The political climate between the United States government and Native American tribes has heated up, and some of the Douglas members are journeying to the Kansas Territory to witness The Great Council, which is a pow-wow that will result either in resolution or in a huge massacre between the tribes and the US government. Other Douglas family members head to the east coast to discover who is embezzling from the family shipping business. In doing so, they become involved with a freed slave and her runaway brother. Lives are forever altered by what happens with them. Another adventure takes place in San Francisco. Greed, jealousy and betrayal are at the heart of most of the dramas taking place. Unrequited love also plays heavily into the Douglas family. The family must overcome horrific challenges handed to them in order to be able to continue the Douglas family legacy.

It is such a pleasure to be able to step back into the lives of the Douglas family. It is fun to be able to check in and see where they are in their lives. “When Tomorrow Comes,” is my favorite novel in the Douglas Family Saga. Although I feel that way about each book that I have read in this series when I finish reading. The family dynamics is extremely complex, especially where matters of the heart are concerned. The characters are also well developed, and it is a pleasure to watch them evolve, especially in regards to the teens and young adults. The family members tend to be hardworking, talented and industrious. When they fall in love, it is with their whole being.

In addition to the affairs of the heart, other themes play critical roles in this story. These include real life historical events involving Native American issues, slavery, and racism. These aspects added depth to an already complex novel. The settings were well described and easy to visualize. I felt like I was watching, rather than reading the scenes. Violence and sexual matter make this a novel best suited for adults.

As with the rest of the books in the series, “When Tomorrow Comes” stands well alone because Larson provides background information, though readers will find it much more satisfying to read the entire series. I look forward to seeing what the author has planned next for the Douglas family!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.