MEET THE AUTHOR: Dewalt du Plessis– Author of “Ash Moonlight”

Ash Moonlight

Dewalt du Plessis
Tellwell Talent (2023)
ISBN: 978-0228886617

Dewalt du Plessis is an Australian author hailing from Queensland. Working as a Pediatric emergency nurse by day, he writes YA fiction novels in his spare time.

Welcome to Reader Views, Dewalt. Before we dive into “Ash Moonlight,” can you tell us a bit about your writing journey and how you got started?

Umm I guess I was never really good at writing at school or university, I always hated assignment writing. But I did find enjoyment in trying to construct song lyrics. And then one night in my quiet time with the Lord, I had this idea to write a book and it just sort of flowed on from there, and I guess 3 years later here we are.

For those in our audience who may not be familiar, can you briefly describe what “Ash Moonlight” is about?

A story, a tale of legend between two clans who were once bonded on a battlefield long forgotten. A tale of a boy without sight, and a girl whose only friends are the voices in her head.

In a time after the great star fall. No longer united by a common enemy, the over-tightened, ever-souring threads of disdain between the Ahusaka and Dyenie thicken with each passing day. One mistimed provoke on either side may just force the land to bear witness to a third genocide. Something that no side truly wishes to inflict on the forests and rivers, but family comes first. Whether it will be the Ahusaka with their fierce angelic wings carrying their bodies with boulders in hand to rain down destruction on the Dyenie; or, the Dyenie’s claws, each sharper than the blade of a sword, slitting and forever silencing the unsuspecting throats of the Ahusaka in their tents in the dead of night, only time will speak of the fate which is to befall the land.

What was the primary inspiration behind “Ash Moonlight”?

The primary inspiration was some song lyrics I was working on years ago, and I thought to myself this could be an interesting story, and so it just went on from there.

Planet Geevena offers a captivating setting. Could you share the process of world-building and how you developed this unique environment?

There wasn’t really a process at all, I sort of just wrote whatever came to mind really.

How do you approach character development, especially for protagonists coming from such varied backgrounds as Mickayla and the young lad?

I’d have a mental image of a personality type, usually taking from traits of either myself and or of real-live people who I knew, and then just allowed those traits to develop inside these characters as I wrote, adding bits and bobs with each revision.

Tribal conflicts and clashing traditions play a significant role in the narrative. How did you choose to explore these themes, especially against a sci-fi backdrop?

As unprofessional as it sounds, there really wasn’t a set structure or anything, I just kind of immersed myself in the story in my head and allowed it to flow wherever it would go. 

The narrative challenges societal norms and conventions. Was this a reflection of any personal beliefs or experiences?

Not directly as far as I am aware anyway; but I guess maybe subconsciously you’d find some part of me that likes to butt-heads with certain “conventional norms” as you call them; maybe I am just a dreamer… even perhaps an idealist at heart.

Forbidden romance is central to Mickayla’s journey. How do you think “Ash Moonlight” presents a fresh or unique take on this theme?

I don’t think it’s really that fresh of a take, the subject in itself is quite a popular and frequently used trope or topic, call it what you will. But in its essence, forbidden love – regardless of how detrimental it might be in the bigger scheme of things – seems like something that we as people are just attracted to.

How did you find the balance between crafting a story that’s both gripping from a romantic perspective and intriguing from a sci-fi angle?

I’m flattered that you think it’s gripping and intriguing: very high compliments indeed, thank you. Truly though, in that case, I guess it just sort of happened really.

The Hollow Sea Pirates are a fascinating addition. What was your inspiration behind their creation and the role they play in the story?

They just sort of developed along with the story, I guess.

The term “schadenfreude” stands out in your synopsis. Can you shed light on its significance in the story, without giving too much away?

Well, I always found it very annoying when I’d be in the middle of a fast-paced action scene in a book and then a big word comes up and I have no idea what it means. And so, I thought when this word comes up in a particular section I’d like the readers to know its meaning without having to go look it up, and so I thought I’d throw it on the back of the book so people would know what it meant.

Are there any real-life inspirations or research that went into crafting the traditions, beliefs, or environments in “Ash Moonlight?”

Maybe subconsciously, I have no idea, to be honest, not as far as I’m aware anyway.

Do you have any literary influences, be it in sci-fi or romance, that you believe have shaped the narrative of “Ash Moonlight?”

I was reading {one of my all-time favorite authors by the way} Curtis Craddock’s The Risen Kingdoms series at the time of writing “Ash Moonlight,” so subconsciously I guess it could have had some effect on my writing.

Can fans of “Ash Moonlight” expect any sequels or expansions in the world of Geevena?

I’m hoping there will be, first I am going to write my second novel, “Wake Walkers,” just to take a break from the world of “Ash Moonlight,” and then when I have the energy to visit that side of the woods again I’ll write book two in the Ash Moonlight series; otherwise, I feel as though I would not be able to put the same heart and passion into the next as I did for the first one.

As we wrap up, what advice or insights might you offer to aspiring authors, especially those looking to blend genres in their work?

Patience I guess is the big thing, and don’t think it’s the final lap too soon [otherwise you will burn out], I think I pushed myself to write a little bit too hard too soon, telling myself we were almost at the finish line when little did I know that I’d be reading this thing seven times over before I would be satisfied with it.

And yes, I most certainly burnt myself out a few times actually, getting to points where I’d be post a run of night shifts, sleep deprived, and trying to force words onto a page, ha, bad idea, don’t do that.

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR!
Website:  https://www.oneirictrees.xyz/ash-moonlight
Instagram:  https://www.instagram.com/dewalt_du_plessis/
Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/dewalt.duplessis


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.