“Lethal Blues” by R. Weir

Lethal Blues

R. Weir
Independently Published (2023)
ISBN: 979-8375111087
Reviewed by Grace Braun for Reader Views (10/2023)

“Lethal Blues: A Jarvis Mann Hardboiled Detective Mystery Novel” by author R. Weir takes the reader on a suspense-filled journey as the main character, Private Investigator Jarvis Mann, sets out to solve a murder and a missing person case which may be linked together—or are they? On Jarvis’ way to discovering the truth, he unravels way more than he bargains for, including the involvement of illegal substances, jeopardizing his life and putting others at risk. The intense amount of action and suspense wrapped into this puzzling mystery allows the reader to be sucked into this story, turning page-by-page in hopes the mystery will be solved.

R. Weir did an amazing job with this book. First, it creates a vivid setting in the mind of the readers by describing the setting at the protagonist’s every turn. Second, Weir captured my attention from beginning to end with a creative and mesmerizing plotline that had so many twists and turns, that I had no idea what to expect next!

As “Lethal Blues” is book nine of the Jarvis Mann Detective series, I found myself slightly confused with the abundance of characters involved in this book. Therefore, I recommend reading the previous books in this series before tackling this one. However, I was able to make do overall; so, if you are good with names, you may find you will have an easier time than I did.

Regarding the narrative elements in the story, I found the protagonist’s distinct approach to humor, specifically his use of sarcasm, to be an interesting choice. It wasn’t entirely to my personal taste, but I appreciate that different character traits resonate differently with individual readers. To be fair, this is the first book I’ve read in the series, so I haven’t had the chance to get to know the character from the beginning.

Overall, this was a well-structured book with a great storyline. I recommend this book to any mystery enthusiast. If you enjoy it half as much as I did, you will be left feeling satisfied and looking forward to more books by R. Weir!


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.