“Permaculture Gardening for the Absolute Beginner” by Josie Beckham

Permaculture Gardening for the Absolute Beginner

Josie Beckham
All We Need Publishing (2023)
ISBN: 978-1962344012
Reviewed by Paige Lovitt for Reader Views (01/2024)

“Permaculture Gardening for the Absolute Beginner” by Josie Beckham defines permaculture as “humans and nature working together in harmony.” I love this definition. I had no idea what it meant prior to reading this wonderful resource. The self-sustaining aspects of permaculture gardening are very attractive. Instead of fighting against nature to grow food, we can work with it and benefit greatly without tearing up our ecosystem. The thought of being able to grow healthy, organic food on my own is incredibly appealing.

This book is divided into five well-organized parts. Beckham takes you into developing a permaculture mindset by providing a wealth of information and explaining twelve permaculture principles. This will help readers see that permaculture gardening is for them. The next parts take us into the different methods and materials that will be involved. After that information is gained then the reader can follow the next steps to getting started with planting.  There is so much helpful information provided in these areas. In the last part, Beckham discusses other things that can factor in such as insects, wildlife, and animals.

Eager to learn, I read the book from beginning to end. I plan on referring back to it as needed. I believe that most readers will want to do this. People who are more experienced gardeners should still find much of the information valuable. The appendix offers concise information that will be easy to access as a resource. The references section has a variety of interesting links that readers will not want to skip. I appreciate that this book is written in a friendly, engaging manner. I really enjoyed reading this. Beckham has a lot of enthusiasm for permaculture gardening, and she makes this a fun topic!

My retirement plans involve relocating to the Bay Area of Virginia with my siblings. We hope to grow most of our own food. I am starting to research aspects of gardening now so that I will be ready when the time comes. I was attracted to the title of this book because it mentioned “gardening” and “beginner.” I figured it was for me! I must admit I did not know what “permaculture” meant. I quickly learned the definition and was happy to know that this book is even more in line with my goals than I originally thought. I am ready to get started now!

Readers who are interested in creating self-sustaining gardens must read Josie Beckham’s “Permaculture Gardening for the Absolute Beginner.”


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.